Sanwo-Olu, Obasa, Esther Ajayi, Bukola Bakare, Others Bag Awards At NUJ Gala Nite

Journalists from across the country converged on Lagos to falicitate with the State Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists during its Gala/Awards Nite , as part of activities to mark the 2021 Press Week.

The theme of the Press Week “Nigeria and Nation Building: Overcoming the Challenges of Security , Restructuring and Self-determination for Progressive Development” was very apt as it encapsulated the current situation in the country.
Delivering his welcome address at the Gala/Awards Nite, Chairman Lagos NUJ, Comrade Adeleye Ajayi reeled out some of the achievements of his exco including facilitating the Nigeria Customs Training and Google Newslab training for members, health and life insurance for members as well as the restoration of the Lagos Council’s website among other lofty achievements.
This is just as erudite scholar Prof. Ralph Akinfeleye, in his goodwill message commended the Lagos Stste NUJ Council for their work at taking their pride of place as the number one council in the country, noting that there cannot be a sustainable democracy without a vibrant press. He urged Journalists to always respect the code and ethics of their practice.

Honorary Awards were later presented to the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Speaker House of Assembly Hon. Mudashiru, Rev. Mother Esther Ajayi while some journalists including Olubukola Veronica Bakare of the Lagos Information and Strategy Chapel, bagged the Public Affairs/Information Officer of the Year Award while the Features Writer of the Year Award went to Gbenga Salau of The Guardian. Other categories of awards were the Broadcast Journalist of the Year, Reporter of the Year, Photojournalist of the Year and a host of others.
Diginitaries who graced the occasion assion held at the Airport Hotel, Ikeja include Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu ably represented by the Commissioner for Information and Strategy Mr. Gbenga Omotoso, Speaker, Lagos House of Assembly, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa ably represented by the Chairman House Committee on Information, Hon.David Sentonji,, Reverend Mother Esther Ajayi, NUJ National President, Chris Isiguzo,
Former Chairman, Lagos NUJ Council, Funke Fadugba, Erudite Scholar Prof. Ralph Akinfeleye, Dr. Jide Johnson of NIJ and other eminent personalities.

Representative of the Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. David Setonji (left); Prof. Ralph Akinfeleye; Recipient of the the Public Affairs/Information Officer of the Year Award, Bukola Bakare; NUJ President, Comrade Chris Isiguzo and Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Gbenga Omotoso, at the NUJ Lagos Gala/Awards Nite held in Lagos… on Friday.